Killers - May, 1982

KISSThe album was originally released only outside the United States, but quickly became available as an import. Of the twelve songs on Killers, four were new compositions recorded specifically for the album. These new songs were recorded in response to the commercial failure of 1981's Music from "The Elder".

In February 1982 , Phonogram Records (the parent company of KISS's label, Casablanca Records) requested that KISS record four new songs, to be included in an upcoming greatest hits album. Phonogram requested hard rock songs specifically, in contrast to the progressive rock style of Music from "The Elder". The album cover, however, featured the same streamlined look the band had adopted during the "Elder" period.

Numerous outside songwriters and session musicians were employed for the writing and recording of the four new songs on Killers. Songwriter and musician Mikel Japp, who co-wrote three songs on Paul Stanley's 1978 solo album, co-wrote "Down on Your Knees" with Stanley and Bryan Adams. Adam Mitchell, another outside songwriter, was brought in by producer Michael James Jackson.

Lead guitarist and co-founder Ace Frehley, despite being pictured on the album's cover art, did not participate at all in the production of Killers. His replacement for the Killers sessions was Bob Kulick Kulick, was allowed to employ his own techniques for Killers.

The Band

ERIC CARR - Drums / Vocals
PETER CRISS - Drums / Vocals
PAUL STANLEY - Guitar / Vocals
GENE SIMONS - Bass / Vocals

Album Notes

  • Additional Personnel:
    Desmond Child - Keyboards, Vocals (bckgr)
    Anton Fig - Drums, Vocals (bckgr)
    Richie Fontana - Drums
    Bob Kulick - Guitar (Electric)
    Vini Poncia - Vocals (bckgr)

Charts & RIAA Certifications

  • The album reached the chart position of #6 in Norway.

  • Killers peaked at #21 in Australia

  • In Japan, it reached #27

  • In Sweden the album peaked at #41

  • The English charts recoded a high of #42 for the album

  • None of the singles released from the album, however, charted in any country.

Track Listing

  1. I'm A Ledgend Tonight (Stanley/ Mitchell)

  2. Down On Your Knees (Stanley/ Japp/ Adams)

  3. Cold Gin

  4. Love Gun

  5. Shout It Out Loud

  6. Sure Know Something

  7. Nowhere To Run (Stanley)

  8. Partners In Crime (Stanley/ Mitchell)

  9. Detroit Rock City

  10. God Of Thunder

  11. I Was Made For Lovin You

  12. Rock & Roll All Nite (Live)