Dynasty - May 23, 1979

KISSKISS enlisted Vini Poncia, who produced Peter Criss's solo album, to produce Dynasty. After pre-production and rehearsals were completed, Poncia decided to exclude Criss from most of the recording, judging him unable to drum well enough. Criss, by this time, had fallen deep into substance abuse and was also recovering from an automobile accident. He performed on only one song, "Dirty Livin'." The rest of the drums were recorded by Anton Fig, who played drums on Ace Frehley's 1978 solo album.

KISS spent over $1 million in trying to create a device that simulated a laser-beam shooting out of Paul's eye (as in the Movie "KISS Meets the Phantom of the Park"). The creation didn't worked and was never developed any further.

The Band

PETER CRISS - Drums / Vocals
PAUL STANLEY - Guitar / Vocals
GENE SIMONS - Bass / Vocals

Album Notes

  • Produced By:
    Vini Poncia for Mad Vincent Productions

  • This was the only KISS album where Frehley sang as many songs as Paul Stanley and more than Gene Simmons.

  • Additional personnel: Anton Fig and Richie Fontana (drums).

  • Recorded at Electric Lady Studios and Record Plant, New York, New York.

Charts & RIAA Certifications

  • "I Was Made For Lovin' You" hits #11 in the singles chart, eventually becoming KISS' second Gold single.

  • "Sure Know Something" only reaches #47 on the charts.

  • BillBoard Chart Peak: #9

  • (Double Platinum - 07/10/79)

Track Listing

  1. I Was Made For Lovin You (Stanley/ Child/ Poncia)

  2. 2000 Man (Jagger/ Richards)

  3. Sure Know Something (Stanley/ Poncia)

  4. Dirty Livin' (Criss/ Poncia/ Penridge)

  5. Charisma (Simmons/ Marks)

  6. Magic Touch (Stanley)

  7. Hard Times (Frehley)

  8. X-Ray Eyes (Simmons)

  9. Save Your Love (Frehley)