ALIVE! - September 10, 1975

KISSThere has been considerable debate as to how much use was made of studio overdubs. Gene Simmons states in his autobiography KISS and Make-Up that very little corrective work was done in the studio and that most of the studio time was devoted strictly to mixing down the multi-track recordings. He also emphasized that KISS could not have done extensive overdubbing even if they had wanted to because the extremely meager budget allotted to the band simply would not allow it.

Eddie Kramer stated there were a few overdubs to correct the most obvious mistakes: breaking strings breaking or off-key notes, for instance. However, in recent years, Kramer has stated that the only original live recording on the album is Ace Frehley's guitar. In a recent televised interview, he also stated the only original live recording on the album is Peter's drums.

The Band

PETER CRISS - Drums / Vocals
PAUL STANLEY - Guitar / Vocals
GENE SIMONS - Bass / Vocals

Album Notes

  • Produced By: Eddie Kramer

  • Recorded from shows in Detroit, New Jersey, Iowa, and Cleveland on the Dressed to Kill tour.

  • A live version of "Rock And Roll All Nite" ris released as the first single.

Charts & RIAA Certifications

  • BillBoard Chart Peaking: #9

  • The live version of "Rock And Roll All Nite" storms up the charts to #12 becoming the band's first top 40 hit.

  • 110 Weeks on the charts (Sells over 9,000,000 coppies)

  • Certified Gold on December 4, 1975 by the RIAA

Track Listing

  1. Deuce
  2. Strutter
  3. Got To Choose
  4. Hotter Than Hell
  5. Firehouse
  6. Nothin' To Lose
  7. C'mon And Love Me
  8. Parasite
  9. She
  10. Watchin' You
  11. 100,000 Years
  12. Black Diamond
  13. Rock Bottom
  14. Cold Gin
  15. Rock And Roll All Nite
  16. Let Me Go Rock And Roll