Hotter Than Hell - October 22, 1974

KISSThe album is also known for its striking cover: the front featured Japanese manga-influenced artwork, and the back cover showed individual band shots taken by Norman Seef at a wild party, and a composite of all four band members' makeup designs. Everyone present at the session (with the exception of Simmons) was drunk for the entire photography session. Stanley was so drunk he had to be locked in his car.

The Band

PETER CRISS - Drums / Vocals
PAUL STANLEY - Guitar / Vocals
GENE SIMONS - Bass / Vocals

Album Notes

  • Produced By:
    Kenny Kerner and Richie Wise

  • Recorded at The Village Recorder, Los Angeles, California.

  • The Japanese character on the bottom of the album cover is chikara, which means "power."

  • Ace Frehley's image on the front cover is actually airbrushed, as a side of his face was injured in a car accident and was without makeup on the afflicted area at the time of the photo shoot.

Charts & RIAA Certifications

  • Peaks at #100 On the US album charts

  • Certified Gold - 06/23/77

Picture DiskTrack Listing

  1. Got To Choose (Stanley)

  2. Parasite (Frehley)

  3. Goin' Blind (Simmons/ Coronel)

  4. Hotter Than Hell (Stanley)

  5. Let Me Go, Rock Abd Roll (Stanley)

  6. All The Way (Simmons)

  7. Watchin' You (Simmons)

  8. Mainline (Stanley)

  9. Comin' Home (Stanley/ Frehley)

  10. Strange Ways (Frehley)